Options

Has this ever happened to anyone else?

vColevCole Member Posts: 1,573 ■■■■■■■□□□
I guess I just need some career advice....

Let's go back a year and a half ago. I had been working at a company for a year - they loved me. However, the pay wasn't enough and I wasn't being challenged enough any longer.

I moved on to a company who was promptly bought out by a Fortune 10 company. So, I needed to find a new job. (I had enjoyed my job and pay at this position, Sys Admin work.)

I took a IT Manager/Sys admin position at a company I really ended up disliking, the pay was ok but working 80 hour work weeks, was not. So I left, and took a position doing small biz consulting. I ended up having a boss who belittled me and stuck me doing desktop support. Which, was very frustrating for me - as I had been doing Sys Admin work for a few years now. So, I took a contract job which was AWESOME. Unfortunately, I ended up having to move over 2 hours away to be with my significant other. After 6 months, I parted ways.

Now, I have a sys admin position once again. But, I feel like I have lost all the knowledge I once had. I realized after working for the small biz consulting firm that I was having a difficult time doing simple desktop troubleshooting, etc. I learned a lot at my contract gig (Sys Admin work.) but my brain didn't seem to absorb the information like it once had. I have not taken a cert exam since Sept 2010 when I finished my MCSA.

I'm fairly young (25) and about ~4 years of experience in IT. I am no longer "learning" or "progressing" like I once had. It's leaving me frustrated, and feeling like a failure. Has this happened to anyone else? I used to be able to learn technologies on the fly and management could always rely on me. Now, I feel like I'm barely fit for Help Desk...

Comments

• Options
    Version4Version4 Member Posts: 58 ■■□□□□□□□□