Options

Would it be too late for me to get back into programming?

CodeBloxCodeBlox Member Posts: 1,363 ■■■■□□□□□□
I used to enjoy programming but I found the hobby slowly slipping away due to my attention being directed towards getting certs and getting a job in IT. It was a hobby I had and I haven't really done any programming in about a year O_O I started programming when I was like 17. I'm not some programming god like some who started when they were 11 years old. Currently I'm 22. Is it too late to get back into programming? This may be a silly question but I sometimes get discouraged when I hear someone go, "I've been programming since I was 9". I really think I would enjoy it as a hobby more than if it were something I did as a career.
Currently reading: Network Warrior, Unix Network Programming by Richard Stevens

Comments

• Options
    FrankThFrankTh Member Posts: 30 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Hi CodeBlox.

It is never too late to learn. And it is even better it you take it as a hobby.
    For what I have seen,some peoples in the 50s can learn C++ for fun in about 3 months.
    At 22 and taking it as a hobby, I would say go for it (any programming language).
    The most common obstacle, in my humble opinion , is when we compare to others.

A quick glance at the certs you have and age...I have no doubts. you will succeed.

Frankth
  • Options
    NetworkingStudentNetworkingStudent Member Posts: 1,407 ■■■■■■■■□□
    FrankTh wrote: »
    Hi CodeBlox.

It is never too late to learn. And it is even better it you take it as a hobby.
    For what I have seen,some peoples in the 50s can learn C++ for fun in about 3 months.
    At 22 and taking it as a hobby, I would say go for it (any programming language).
    The most common obstacle, in my humble opinion , is when we compare to others.

A quick glance at the certs you have and age...I have no doubts. you will succeed.

Frankth

+1

It’s never to late
    check out these sites

Programmer 101: Teach Yourself How to Code