Options

How do you get an entry level help desk, or support job in MN?

NetworkingStudentNetworkingStudent Member Posts: 1,407 ■■■■■■■■□□
How do you get an entry level help desk, or support job in MN? I have gotten interviews, but no offers. Currently, I work in printing, but there isn’t much customer service involved in that job.

I would be willing to work contract to hire

Here is a list what I have been trying:
 I have an A.A.S. degree in information technology
 Comp TIA A+, Network+, and Security+ certified
 I’m a Certified Help Desk Institute-Customer Service Representative
 I’m studying for my Windows 7 exam, and the ITILv3 foundations exam.
 I have my resume posted on career builder, Monster,Dice, and Jobs Indeed.
 I have been constantly upgrading and updating my resume and cover letter.
 I have attended career fairs. (These aren’t that helpful)
 I volunteered in the past and I currently volunteer using my IT skills.
 Posted my resume on Tech Exam Forums for review and advice
 Being more active with linked in, and trying to grow my linked in account
 Human networking( the volunteer manager, at the organization I volunteer for said he would give me contacts and forward my resume)

Here’s what I’m going to do:

Join Toast Masters-I heard this helps with interviewing and people skills

go to advance IT events- What's Coming Up at Advance IT Minnesota | Advance IT Minnesota

Try to network more in person, vs networking on line.

What I can’t do right now:

Move to another state-My girlfriend would need to find a job first in said state before we could move.

Contract permanent possible-I have a few recruiters tell me they have a job for me, but it’s only 4 months. So after those 4 months, you don’t have a job? I’m not sure what the perm possible is.