Options

I was a biological science major but have decided to switch to IT? Advice please!

mnaqvi1mnaqvi1 Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
I use to be a bio major but realize my real passion is in IT even though I have limited experience. I think I would like to take the IT security route but I have touched a little on programming and what not and I would like to avoid that. I just wanted some advice in regards to how I would go about getting an intry level position in the IT field. I heard certifications are really important, which certifications should I get started with to get a position anywhere.

A little off topic but I was debating on whether I should take IT security route or Networking & Database route. Any suggestions in terms of the future of these fields. Thank you.

Comments

• Options
    mypcrepairguymypcrepairguy Member Posts: 41 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I was in the same position that you find yourself in.
    The best advice that I can give you is to complete your biology degree and then pursue the IT security route via 2yr or additional post grad education from your university. The reason for this is you will become instantly more marketable to bio-tech / pharma companies due to your unique skill set.

I wish I did this, rather then what I am doing now. Essentially I got bored with my Biology degree plan (pre-med) and dropped out of college to pursue IT. I achieved several certs and got employed at a bio-tech company. I had to give up this position as my wife started a residency program on the other side of the country. Now I find myself in a position where employers value a degree over certs / experience. Luckily I discovered WGU and I am 1yr away from a BS in IT: Networks design and management.
    (Start date 1/01/2011) BSIT: Network Design and Management

Units to Complete: (33)
    CLC1, WFV1(LOL), AKV1, TPV1(wip), AHV1, AIV1, AJV1

Transfered Units: (34)
    BAC1, BBC1, LAE1, LAT1, LUT1, QLC1, QMC1, QLT1, IWC1, IWT1, INC1, INT1, SSC1, SST1,