College degree question

Hello guys,

I am still taking my prerequisites and my major is Computer Science. I would like to work in a networking environment, so that I can take advantage of my certifications.
What should I take as a major in college instead?
Also, can I use my certs to add more college units?

Thanks
thm
Studying:
Working on CCNA: Security. Start date: 12.28.10
Microsoft 70-640 - on hold (This is not taking me anywhere. I started this in October, and it is December now, I am still on page 221. WTH!)
Reading:
Network Warrior - Currently at Part II
Reading IPv6 Essentials 2nd Edition - on hold

Comments

• veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
    thehourman wrote: »
    Hello guys,

I am still taking my prerequisites and my major is Computer Science. I would like to work in a networking environment, so that I can take advantage of my certifications.
    What should I take as a major in college instead?
    Also, can I use my certs to add more college units?

Thanks
    thm

A Computer Science major is probably the most respected "IT degree." Typically a job posting will say that the job requires you to have a bachelor degree in CS or other IT related degree. I would keep going for a BS in CS while working on the CCNA.
  • SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    The first question I have is where are you going to school now? If it's a four-year university, do they offer any degree-tracks that are more network-focused? If it's a two-year school, what do they offer and are you looking to transfer later?