LAB for ICND1 & ICND2

jude56gjude56g Member Posts: 107 ■■■□□□□□□□
I am currently studying for the ICND1. I have gone through the Jeremy's CBT nuggets and read the Odom book. I'm starting my final preparation and I want to get in a lot of lab time, however I'm running short on ideas of what to work on..

Here is my lab setup.
  • 2400 series IAD w/ 2 T1 interfaces. I have a FastE connection to the Internet via a cable modem. (All other configured IP space is private.)
  • 2 1841 w/ T1 WIC connected to the IAD via serial. (Integrated CSU/DSU)
  • 2 3750 connected to the 1841s via FastE
:D

I have a connection to the internet on the IAD and have configured telemetry to all devices.
I built the network using only static routes, and then I migrated to RIPv2 which is running between the routers presently.
I have configured PAT from the CLI on the 1841s to facilitate internet connectivity from these devices.

My next steps are to turn up DHCP services on the 1841 routers for the LAN, and then practice port security on the switches.

Beyond this, I'm drawing a bit of a blank on what exercises I should practice. I am open to any suggestions. icon_confused.gif:

Also, I believe this gear should be plenty to study/practice for the ICND2, but if there are any suggestions on that point, fire away. I think the IAD will come in handy with the voice concentration if I decided to head in that direction.

Comments

• j-manj-man Member Posts: 143
    Don't know if you've done this but break portions of the network and run the appropriate debug commands to see the output. How about PPP authentication? How about downgrading one of the routers to RIP v1 and seeing the effects in the routing tables in the surrounding routers?

A cool one for me was to turn on rip debug and then I'd shut down a remote network and then bring it back online after a while. To see the route poison and poison reverse live was really cool.