CCNA Home Lab: What else do I need?

SeenSeen Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi guys, I'm getting ready to start working on my CCNA. I've decided to build a home lab, I have a friend who works in an IT department and he got me the following equipment:

1 Cisco 1841 router with IOS 12.4
1 Cisco 2621XM router with IOS 12.3
1 Cisco 3524XL switch

I have no prior experience with routers or switches, and I was wondering, what else do I need? I was planning on having 3 routers and 3 switches, that should be enough to cover all CCNA topics right? Neither of the routers have serial ports, so I need to buy WIC cards. I read that I need 1 router with 2 serial ports, and the others can just have 1, so I guess that means 4 WIC cards if I have 3 routers.

Also, I read that the CCNA focuses on the 2950 switch, will I run into a problem if I use the 3524XL switch? I think I'll buy 2 2950s off ebay would that be a good idea?

As far as the IOS goes, is it best if all the routers use the same version? I was planning on putting 12.4T on the 1841, and I think the 2621 has enough memory for 12.4T. The 2621 seems like a "clunker" compared to the 1841, but free is free.

Also I only received a console cable from my friend. What other cables do I need and how many of each, assuming I have 3 routers and 3 switches, and 1 router has 2 serial ports and the others have 1? Is there a better place than eBay to get the cables?

Also, I didn't get any rack brackets, so I need to buy some. Again is there a better place than eBay to get them? Here is the rack I'm planning on getting:

http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/tg/detail/-/B000CD1R84