What should I get for a home lab for the CCNA exam? Please help.

ghost2qghost2q Member Posts: 20 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm a complete newb when it comes to networking. I want to get my hands on a home CCNA lab. I was hoping to get something that I can also use when I go for my CCNP. Can anyone recommend something? please tell me the exact models of switches and routers I should get. I've tried reading some other articles on how to build a home CCNA lab but alot of them were written in 2006 or something and I don't want to get a lab that is too old.

Thanks!

Comments

• effektedeffekted Member Posts: 166
    Comes down to how much you're wanting to spend, but you could grab a few 2600 XM series (be sure they are XM series and not just normal 2600's) such as 26x0 XM and 26x1 XM and 2-3 3550 switches and all of those can carry into CCNP+ Also no need to go all out with a bunch of routers and switches, I am using 2 routers and a few switches to physically lab with and get more hands on and then using GNS3 to create complex topologies/labs that call for 3 or more routers and etc.
  • Ch@rl!3m0ngCh@rl!3m0ng Member Posts: 139
    Depends if you want to use physical kit or virtual. When I sat my CCNA I used Cisco's Packet tracer. you can use this to set up virtual network. Either that or GNS3. Thought for GNS3 you need a copy of IOS to use. If you want to use the phsyical kit then effekted has a good answer for you there. To get hold of the kit your best bet is Ebay. And good look with it and stick at it.
    Currently reading: Syngress Linux + and code academy website (Java and Python modules)

"All men can see these tactics whereby I conquer, but what none can see is the strategy out of which victory is evolved." - Sun Tzu, 'The Art of War'
  • alan2308alan2308 Member Posts: 1,854 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Exactly as the previous couple posts said. Are you willing to use GSN3 and what is your budget? These two questions have to be answered first.