Options

Just received my A+ CE...

PC509PC509 Member Posts: 804 ■■■■■■□□□□
After more than a decade of being A+ certified, I received an A+ CE certificate and card. Now, apparently my A+ is set to expire. I thought the old ones were grandfathered in, or did they change their mind on that one?

It has the same date I earned my Security+ cert, which was the CE version. Did passing that change my A+ to CE as well? I received my Sec+ cert a few weeks after I passed. This A+ certificate came 10 months later (yesterday). WOW!

I have really passed the usefulness of the cert, so it's not really that huge of a deal, but it goes against what was told and what I had done in the past. I had 6 years experience when I took the A+ exam and passed it with no problems (as well as several Microsoft exams), and now I have nearly 17 years experience in the industry. So, an A+ certification won't make or break an employment prospect, unless the A+ is required (which is a few jobs that I do on contract work). Now that it is going to expire, I'm worried... I'm not going to retake the A+, Net+ or Sec+. Project+ is my final CompTIA exam, and I'm glad it's not CE.

Grrrrrrrr. Frustrating why they do things the way they do... Anyone else have a similar issue? Any old A+ holders that had the same thing happen?

Comments

• Options
    echo465echo465 Banned Posts: 115
    What certifications does it list on your summary page? Mine has my A+ from 1998, my A+ CE from a few months ago, and my Security+ from a few months ago. In the 'expires' column, the 1998 A+ still says 'n/a'.

https://www.certmetrics.com/comptia/candidate/cert_summary.aspx

• Options
    Ah, I see. It says it doesn't expire. So, according to that, I don't have to renew the A+ if I don't want to, correct? I'm still good for life?

Thanks. At least I'm a bit relieved!
  • Options
    TeKniquesTeKniques Member Posts: 1,262 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Hi,