Options

Entry Level certification path for IT Field

tmay70tmay70 Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello, Found this site and it is very informative. However haven't found anything in regards to my dilemma. I am in my 40's now. After being involved in managing millions of dollars in inventory for the last 20 years. I have decided to get into the IT field. I have no experience other than trying to figure out whats wrong with my home computer and network. I am looking for the right certification path to eventually get into security. I would like to get a job in the IT field as I continue to work for that. So, with that in mind, what would be the best path for me.
TIA

Comments

• Options
    DevilryDevilry Member Posts: 668
    Start off with A+, it is a basics to everything computers.

Second, get your Net+ if you want to elaborate a little more on networks.

Third, if you want to get into security a good first place to begin is Sec+.

These are all CompTIA exams, there are seperate forums here on TE specifically about them.

Good luck and let us know how we can help more, welcome to TE Forums!
  • Options
    hackman2007hackman2007 Member Posts: 185
    I'm with Devilry.

Start with A+, then Network+, then Security+. After that, you will probably know which direction you will go. One piece of advice though, don't purchase vouchers for all three right off, just do one at a time. Also, make sure you don't spend thousands of dollars preparing for these tests, they aren't designed to be "killer tests". Just pick up a book or two and then take the test.
  • Options
    DevilryDevilry Member Posts: 668
    Yes agreed ^^^

Don't do anything but self-study if possible, there is more than plenty material out there, and these are easy exams.
  • Options
    someuser23someuser23 Member Posts: 103
    A+, MCP (70-270) then MCTIP