Options

Think back to when you started your career: Are you where you thought you'd be?

vColevCole Member Posts: 1,573 ■■■■■■■□□□
In December, I will be working in IT for 4 years. Back then, I was a help desk technician at a decent sized company. It made me think of all the trials and tribulations over the past 4 years. I started thinking about where I'd been, and where I'd like to be.
I just accepted a job at a Network Administrator for a global manufacturing firm, I wouldn't say it's my dream job but as far as my career goes I personally feel I'm on target for what I want. However, I didn't think I'd be living in Southern CT! icon_lol.gif

So, are you where you thought you would be? icon_cool.gif

Comments

• Options
    EveryoneEveryone Member Posts: 1,661
    I'm still working in IT, so I guess yes, I am where I thought I would be. ;)

12 years ago when I started, I didn't put any thought into where my career was going to be or go in the future. I just knew I liked working in IT. I think 2 years into my career, when I decided to join the Air Force, was the 1st time I really thought about where I would be. Back then I saw myself doing 20 years of Active Duty and retiring as at least a Master Sergeant at age 39. That didn't really work out.
  • Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    I also have 12 years experience under my belt. I always said I wanted to study architecture but since computers were my real passion that's the path I took. Started doing desk side support at a Fortune 500 and never looked back. Ended up trading the warmth of a Caribbean island for the harsh Chicago winters. Never thought I would end up here but it has been very rewarding. Always keep your options open. You never know what may cross paths with you.
  • Options
    it_consultantit_consultant Member Posts: 1,903
    I am still waiting for professional photographer to pan out for me.
  • Options
    Dakinggamer87Dakinggamer87 Member Posts: 4,016 ■■■■■■■■□□