Options

Associate degree motivation

So I've been working like crazy for the last year to getting an A.S degree. I'm now to a point where I really only need to do my classes for my major. I also have plans to get a B.S eventually but i want an A.S first so I have something to show for myself. I hear alot of people knock the Associates degree and call it things like a half degree. And im just beginning to feel like the time im investing in getting one is useless. SO i'd like to hear some stories about how the Associate degree has helped people out! Lets get positive!

Comments

• Options
    PsoasmanPsoasman Member Posts: 2,687 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I earned my AAS in Networking in June and it transferred in quite a few classes at WGU for me, so I'd say an Associates is great. It's a good step to moving onto Bachelor's and Master degrees.
  • Options
    SlowhandSlowhand Mod Posts: 5,161 Mod
    As Psoasman said, an Associate's degree can be a stepping-stone for transfer to a four-year school. However, I've also seen many cases where IT professionals do very well with an A.S., particularly if they push hard for certs.

Every job I've held so far has listed a Bachelor's degree as a requirement for employment, and I've yet to take either an Associate's or a Bachelor's. I believe that having a two-year or four-year degree would have made things easier, but I don't see a whole lot of difference between the two in terms of entry-level or mid-level work in this field, (at least, in my neck of the woods.) Even senior-level network engineers and systems administrators I've known have only held Associate's degrees.