Options

Starting my MCIPT Journy. Basic Questions.

Hey fellas..

Works pressing me to get my MCIPT so they can send me out my migrations/deployment's etc. I've allways been and will always be a networking guy at heart but paying the bills trumps all.. I have a couple questions:

Works supplied me a rack of 4 older HP G4's with dual proc's, enough drives and mem to get the job done. I'm going to setup DNS allow for my home lab to authenticate, join as child domains allowing me to study from home (just don't have the time to study at work). I need some assistance upping my home PC to par for adequacy. I've noticed my single SATA hard drive pc is sluggish (at best) when running 3+ DC's. It's a i7-920, 12gig, single hd home build. I was thinking about taking 2 or 3 80gig SATA drives home and just giving each VM DC it's own hard drive. Will that help with read time?

I've been paying attention to Microsoft certs for the past 10 years, studied 2000 and 2008 early on. This will be my first Microsoft rodeo, I was thinking about starting with the Active Directory exam for a foundational exam. thoughts?

How long should it take someone with average knowledge of most microsoft services and deployment methodologies to hit the ground running and gain their MCITP:SA with CBT Nugg's and the Cert books, study time ranging from 5-15 hours per week? 9 months?

Basic questions.. Thanks for any input..

Comments

• Options
    steve13adsteve13ad Member Posts: 398 ■■■■□□□□□□
    It all depends on you; but you could cover the topics of each exam in three months. It all depends on how quick you take to the information.
  • Options
    seekritseekrit Member Posts: 103
    Thanks for the reply...