Options

The next step..

ChrisRiceChrisRice Member Posts: 35 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi guys, relatively new here but I have been following some of the recent topics and am slowly learning my way around. I was given to the link to here by my instructor as he said it may help me with exam resources. However, I was wondering if anyone would be able to give me some pointers as to where I should go next with regards to certifications and working.

I am only 18, but I have always had a passion for IT, and can pick things up extremely quickly. I studied a 2-year BTEC Course at College, which included all 4 of the CCNA: Discovery semesters and the related labs, though I have not yet sat the CCNA certification exam. I am currently an Apprentice Support Technician at a Zenos Academy.

Here I am studying towards the A+, MTA (98-366 & 98-349) and MCTS (70-680) certifications. I have also chosen to sit the Network+ and MCITP:EST (70-685) certifications while I am here as they are discounted. I should have all of these certifications by Jan 6th 2012, bearing in mind I only started this course in September, and as it is an apprenticeship I have had assignments to do as well. It is super-intensive as we have around 2 weeks learning and revision time for each certification, except for the N+ and MCITP:EST, as I have to self-teach myself these using whatever resources I can find. I intend to sit the two ICND(640-822 & 640 816) exams for my CCNA once I have gained my other certifications.

My main aim is to have a career in security, though I am erring towards being in management one day. We recently had Todd Lammle come in and talk to us about a career in networking. He says that VoIP and Cloud are going to become huge in the next couple of years, but I am unsure about how I would get into these areas, or how I could link them to a career in security.

If you need anymore information related to what I can do, feel free to ask. Any comments are welcome!

Comments

• Options