Options

Security certification - starting point

araczekaraczek Member Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi,

Yes, I read the sticky. I have been a System Administrator for the Government for 16+ years. My
job is not exclusively security but we do a LOT of Information Assurance work. We just recently worked
on and achieved network acceditation (which, I know is basically server hardening).

Being as I have been an administrator for so long I want to specialize in some IT area. VMware, Storage
and Cisco along with security were my area's of interest. I just had new requirements for my job and I
had to do Security+, which I just passed. I am also WAY behind in MS certifications (I am MCSE on NT 4!).
So was thinking of security. Just don't think I have the experience according to the 10 domains. Not sure
if I am reading this right but it seems to me I CAN'T pursue this. What then would be my next step in getting
an industry accepted security credential?

Which brings me to the question that I see people here taking the CISSP so I assume they all have the
experience and the CISSP credential or are they associates? CISSP is a great achievement, power to the
people that passed.

But basically what would be a good next step?

Comments

• Options
    demonfurbiedemonfurbie Member Posts: 1,819
    the cissp can be very intimidating

i would suggest looking at a giac or a eccouncil cert before going cissp
    wgu undergrad: done ... woot!!
    WGU MS IT Management: done ... double woot :cheers:
  • Options
    onesaintonesaint Member Posts: 801