Options

What's worst, a dated MCITP or a dated MCTS: SCCM

sokkaNETsokkaNET Member Posts: 6 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi

I've been lurking around here for a couple of years, and been planning to get some certs for a very long time. However, I never got that far.

Now I'm seriously planning to go for it... but I'm not sure what path to choose.

I have been working in IT for about the last 10 years, in various ways. (helpdesk, support, server administrator etc.). Currently I'm working as server administrator and some SCCM 2007.
Some years ago I planned to get MCSA 2003, I got the windows xp and one of the server tests, but never got any furter. I decided not to keep on going for the 2003 tests, as the upgrade path to MCITP was almost just as long. Then I decided to go for the MCITP Server admin, but never got to take any test.

I can't use my working time to study, nor do I have to much sparetime, so it will defnetly take some time to read up to another test, but I have decided that now I really want to get going with certs.

If I try to get going with MCITP, I'm pretty sure that I wont be finished with it, until late 2012, so I guess Server 8 (and a new MCITP program) is out. I guess after doing the MCITP, I must go for the MCTS: SCCM. (by then it will be SCCM 2012).

Alternative I could first go for MCTS SCCM, and get that done, and then go for MCITP (or whatever it will be called on Server icon_cool.gif.

So I guess what it boils down to, what is more worthless. A dated MCITP or a dated MCTS: SCCM

Comments

• Options
    TLeTourneauTLeTourneau Member Posts: 616 ■■■■■■■■□□
    On the server side, just because Server 8 may be coming out in 2012 that doesn't make the MCITP in server admin worthless. How many companies do you know of the upgrade thier servers as soon as MS releases a new version? We still have a couple thousand servers running 2003.
    Thanks, Tom

M.S. - Cybersecurity and Information Assurance
    B.S: IT - Network Design & Management
  • Options