Options

Tired of the interview process and also stressed about references

I know it is extremely hard to find a job these days. But, I am already burned out after going through a long interview process. HR phone interview for 30 minutes, in-person interview for 45 minutes, and there will be more interviews coming up with other manager or directors. This is for an ENTRY LEVEL position and I have little experience as well. I have no idea how I managed to survive 2-3 layers of interviews. I have nothing to prepare unless I dig my school textbooks and read ALL of my books. I've been out of school for 2 years and I'm not a technical person as well. What else can i prepare for?

The other thing that bother me is references. I e-mailed my previous manager a few days ago and asked if she is ready to be my job reference again. It goes unanswered or *ignored* although I know the email has gone through 100%. She has written a nice reference letter for me and i landed my current job with her help (reference letter + reference through phone). But, I'm in the interview process and she is my life-line right now although no reply or response. I asked my previous colleague to be my reference but she is unwilling to do it through the phone instead provided her email address (which is kind of useless).

I have a reference that is 5 years ago but not sure how much weight is put into this.

Comments

• Options
    hackman2007hackman2007 Member Posts: 185
    30-45 minutes is not a long interview. That's about average.

One of the companies I applied for (quite some time ago), I had three in-person interviews in one day all about 30 minutes each. Each interview was with two different people, each asking different/but similar questions. This was after a phone interview.

Hang in there!
  • Options
    ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■