Options

Business major to IT field, future career prospects?

rwb964rwb964 Registered Users Posts: 4 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello,

I am new to this forum and have found a great amount of helpful resources on here.

I am an International Business major with a Bachelors from a 4 year University.

To strengthen my resume I have done marketing, finance and research internships.

I have figured that I wanted to have some IT skills under my belt.

I now possess a ITIL Foundation V3 certification and now working towards taking Security+ 301 next month.

After have a Security+ certification, what would be my options regarding a career path? I assume start as help desk, but what other routes can I take? for example, some positions I am interested in are like being a Cyber Warrior/Defender and Business Analyst.

I can set up routers, LAN, WAN or VPN networks, mitigate risks, etc. Just a decent basic knowledge of networking and malicious attack prevention.

I am also studying SQL on the side.

So my main question is I would like to ask for you professional opinion from your experiences. Am I on the right path?

thank you in advance

Comments

• Options
    CiscoKiddCiscoKidd Member Posts: 37 ■■■□□□□□□□
    First let me welcome you to the site rwb964!!

Second, if you can set up routers, WAN, LAN, and VPNs, and mitigate risk, you have more than a basic knowledge of networking.