Options

GNS3 requirements

beach5563beach5563 Member Posts: 344 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm studying for CCENT/CCNA and have been hearing a lot about GNS3. I heard you h ave to have a dual core processor and about 4 gigs of ram. Is that true. Is there any kind of way to maybe tweak it for PCs that are not that powerful. Just wondering. It looks like a real cool tool to use. It looks good for routing and maybe I could get a couple of switches to add to it. Just wondering if anyone could give me some insight on this.
Thanks

Comments

• Options
    cisco_troopercisco_trooper Member Posts: 1,441 ■■■■□□□□□□
    GNS3 is a hog. You can get away with using just plain dynamips on much less. I used to run dynamips on an AMD XP3000+ with 256M of RAM. I was able to get about 14 routers going.
  • Options
    GNS3 is a hog. You can get away with using just plain dynamips on much less. I used to run dynamips on an AMD XP3000+ with 256M of RAM. I was able to get about 14 routers going.

Ok that sounds good. I have an intel 4 1.8 Ghz processor with a gig of ram in it. I'm thinking that could work. Will it still give you a real IOS like GNS3? I have already downloaded GNS3 and it has Dynamips in it I think. Do you have any info on how I can set it up and all just for Dynamips. Thanks so much for your help.
  • Options
    spiderjerichospiderjericho Registered Users, Member Posts: 890 ■■■■■□□□□□
    I stay away from Linux but I hear GNS3 is a lot less resource intensive on Unix distros than working on 7, Vista and XP. But if you have a quad core and probably 4 GB of RAM, it will run fine with 10+ routers in Windows.
  • Options
    Thanks so much year I hear some people use linux for this too. I may just go with Packet Tracer for CCNA and then once I get to CCNP go for GNS3 by then I will have a better computer and a couple of peices of real equipment too. : )
    Thanks so much