Options

background check

fredmoogiefredmoogie Member Posts: 80 ■■□□□□□□□□
In your experience, do potential employers do a background investigation:

a) before the in-person interview?
b) before an offer of employment?
c) after your acceptance?

2nd question is, can they legally perform an investigation w/o your written or verbal approval?

Thanks

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Usually after accepting the offer in my experience. I don't think they can do one without your consent, but I'm no lawyer.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    VAHokie56VAHokie56 Member Posts: 783
    Usually after accepting the offer in my experience. I don't think they can do one without your consent, but I'm no lawyer.

This was the case with contract positions I have been involved in
    .ιlι..ιlι.
    CISCO
    "A flute without holes, is not a flute. A donut without a hole, is a Danish" - Ty Webb
    Reading:NX-OS and Cisco Nexus Switching: Next-Generation Data Center Architectures
  • Options
    HeeroHeero Member Posts: 486
    Yeah. Usually it will be after you are hired, or after the decide to hire you, but before they actually do it. They do not need your consent to do a basic background search because they are just looking for public information on you, though it is scary what can turn up as public information. For something like a credit check, they do need your approval.

My current job, the background check was before I got the offer, but after they decided they wanted to make me the offer.
  • Options
    AkaricloudAkaricloud Member Posts: 938
    In my experience it's always been right before an offer. Most places don't want to spend the time/money/resources to do background checks on all applicants but yet don't want to offer jobs before they run one.
  • Options
    Moki99Moki99 Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□