Java help

knownheroknownhero Member Posts: 450
Hi Guys,

Was wondering if anyone could help me. Im very new to java and was wondering if you can write a script for it to calculate the differents in days two date filed boxes has entered in them. So say the start date was 01/12/2011 and finish was 12/12/2011 I want to have a box (which is numeric) show the amount of days there are the person wants to take off.

Im creating a LiveCycle form for holiday requests and this would be a pretty nice feature to have.

Any help in this matter would be great.

Kind Regards
70-410 [x] 70-411 [x] 70-462[x] 70-331[x] 70-332[x]
MCSE - SharePoint 2013 :thumbup:

Road map 2017: JavaScript and modern web development

Comments

• the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Shouldn't be a problem, but you have to factor in weekends as well. Don't know Java very well, so hopefully someone who does can chime in.
    WIP:
    PHP
    Kotlin
    Intro to Discrete Math
    Programming Languages
    Work stuff
  • knownheroknownhero Member Posts: 450
    Touche on the weekend thing. Forgot about them :D

• RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    You mean JavaScript, I assume?
    I just wanted to mention that this is actually a non-trivial task as it goes to the nature of what a work day is. For example, my work considers the 26th, 27th and 30th of Dec to be paid holidays this year. So What if my request was for the 23rd-the 2nd? Would I be required to split my request into multiple requests? How does the Java or JavaScript know about your company's calendar for the current and next year? What is the definition of a workday? Does it include Saturdays for some workers? Do you have shifts?
  • knownheroknownhero Member Posts: 450