Which are the basic CLI Commands to know by memory

Ola_CISCOOla_CISCO Member Posts: 73 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello,

I am currently studying for my CCNA cert, and I have recently started to use Packet Tracer, which is very good. I was wondering if anyone could suggest some basic CLI commands that I should know by memory when setting up practice networks in Packet Tracer.

Comments

• MonkerzMonkerz Member Posts: 842
    All of them. I constantly have to dig down in my vault to pull out a command I need. :)

After using them for a while, they will come second nature to you.
  • Timber WolfTimber Wolf Member Posts: 90 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Best way to learn is by just keep labbing. And every time you start a new lab clear devices and start from scratch every time. You will find that you just start to memorize commands you use in the lab.
    WGU BS IT - Security
    Need to complete: CSV1 BOV1 RIT1 BNC1 KET1 TPV1 MGC1 CJV1 KFT1 CNV1 SBT1 RGT1
    Completed: CUV1 CTV1
    Transferred: CVV1 DJV1 IWT1 IWC1 BVC1 QLT1 DHV1 HHT1 GAC1 DFV1 INT1 INC1 CPV1 AXV1 QBT1 LUT1 LAE1 CLC1 BBC1 AGC1 WFV1 CQV1 COV1
  • networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Just keep playing with it and the commands will stick. What commands are most important to know depends on what you are doing really. Show ip route isn't going to be very helpful when setting up a L2 switch, but very important if you are setting up a routed network.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Ola_CISCOOla_CISCO Member Posts: 73 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Thanks guys,

I'll keep practicing with the labs! :)
  • Moki99Moki99 Member Posts: 24 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Make sure you know all your show commands.
  • kal#4kal#4 Registered Users Posts: 7 ■□□□□□□□□□
    sh ip route --- sh ip int brief----sh run
    sh protocols
    sh service-module s0/0/0 P
    sh access-lists
  • fredmoogiefredmoogie Member Posts: 80 ■■□□□□□□□□
    i'm gonna break up into 2 categories: routing & switching

a. routing commands