Options

Undergraduate Networking Thesis - Suggestions

evilwizardevilwizard Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi, I am an undergraduate and I am studying for a degree in computer networks. Since this is my last year of the course I also have to do a thesis that relates to computer networks.

My problem is that I am really struggling with finding a topic that is suitable for me. I have read about issues in IT such as the fact that companies nowadays have the problem where they need to do implement a policy (virus scanning, phone lock) on the smartphones of their employees. I have read that this is even of a bigger problem where employees have smartphones with different OSs such as Android and IOS.

Now the part where I always seem to be stuck in my search for a thesis topic is the testing part. My school requires us to do a test as part of our thesis so that we could then comment on the results, methodology and stuff like that. I always end up moving on and trying to find another thesis topic that could possibly be tested. (i.e. we do not need to develop the testing software ourselves so for example if you are testing the throughput on a particular network you only need to find the suitable software that is able to perform this task)

Do you have any suggestions as to what I should do in order to find a proper thesis topic?

I am really confused icon_sad.gif and would really appreciate any help and suggestions that you can give me.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    cxzar20cxzar20 Member Posts: 168
    Create a protocol with the scalability of BGP and convergence of EIGRP icon_cheers.gif
  • Options
    powerfoolpowerfool Member Posts: 1,666 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I have not encountered many (read: any) undergrad programs that have a thesis component. I would suggest that you work with the department faculty to assist you finding a topic; this is a standard practice in graduate programs, so I would have to think they would offer the same courtesy to undergrad students.