SQL Help

it_consultantit_consultant Member Posts: 1,903
OK, I am not a DBA, but I am also not a total noob at MS SQL either. We are putting in a new EMR / EHR system at my client which has 2x apache tomcat based app servers (hardware load balanced) that talk to a MS SQL database backend (2 node SQL cluster) for about 100 concurrent connections. We had a problem with one of the app servers which the vendor fixed. Then they told us to do this:

- Set sql server memory in such a way that OS has some memory for its own processes. (Atleast 4GB for OS)
- set “optimize for Ad hoc workloads” to “true”
- set ‘Max degree for parallelism” to “1”
- Set parameterization to "true" for each database.
- Disable Hyperthreading on each cluster node
- Set power options to high performance on each cluster node
- Set TCP chimney offload to disabled on each cluster node

Our database servers are half height dell blades with 2x xeon 6 core processors and 48 GB of memory. The server doesn't breath hard all day. Will those things truly do anything for us?

Comments

• RobertKaucherRobertKaucher Member Posts: 4,299 ■■■■■■■■■■
    A lot of the answers here will be it depends. I would expect that their engineers would research this and test it. However one of these things make me uncomfortable... Max Degree of Parallelism to 1? "