Options

Help desk quality assurance position - a step in the right direction?

ArystaArysta Member Posts: 58 ■■□□□□□□□□
I've been working a tier 1 help desk position for about 6 months now, and my boss just offered me a position as the QA analyst. I'd be monitoring both tier 1 and tier 2 calls. I'm almost definitely going to be taking the position because I'm not a fan of answering calls all day, and this would get me off the phones. I'm quite good at my job, but my personality type finds talking all day very draining. I'll also be learning everything required of the tier 2 techs in order to analyze their calls properly.

At first glance, it seems like a win-win situation, but now I'm hesitating because it doesn't strike me as the "normal" IT career path.

I was wondering if anyone has any experience doing this type of job. How does something like this compare to actual experience in a tier 2 position? I'm hoping to move into the security field eventually once I finish at WGU, and I don't want to get too far off track.

Comments

• Options
    erpadminerpadmin Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Arysta wrote: »
    I've been working a tier 1 help desk position for about 6 months now, and my boss just offered me a position as the QA analyst. I'd be monitoring both tier 1 and tier 2 calls. I'm almost definitely going to be taking the position because I'm not a fan of answering calls all day, and this would get me off the phones. I'm quite good at my job, but my personality type finds talking all day very draining. I'll also be learning everything required of the tier 2 techs in order to analyze their calls properly.

At first glance, it seems like a win-win situation, but now I'm hesitating because it doesn't strike me as the "normal" IT career path.