Options

CCVP without CCNP?

shuffles62shuffles62 Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've been working in the sonet world for the past 5 years, but i'm in between jobs right now and i'm having a hard time selling my somewhat esoteric skills. i'm no stranger to the ip world, but my focus has been from the service provider side and i haven't done a whole lot of router/switch configuration. telco companies here in the us haven't really been hiring people with my specific skills lately so i'm brushing up.

for now i'm still working on ccna, and i don't see that taking much longer....so i'm trying to decide which direction to take after thats over. Do you need all the ccnp skills to survive in voip? I see that it isn't specifically a prereq, but I wanted to get thoughts from people that have a bit more experience in the area.

I really think there will be some great opportunities in the voip field over the next few years and i'm looking for ideas as to the best way to make the transition. Thanks for the help.

Comments

• Options
    Ten9t6Ten9t6 Member Posts: 691
    While, it is not a prereq...the more you know about Cisco r/s configurations, the easier some of the other tracks will be for you. The way I look at is this.....You have to understand the "core" routing and switching before adding on to it.

But, I have seen people go into the VoIP / Voice or Security track without their CCNP and have no problems. It depends on the individual and their experience. ...If you consider yourself to be in a time crunch, I would go straight to VP right after NA. To complete the NP and VP will take a while. There are quite a few tests to complete both and none of them are "easy".

I hope this helps..
    Kenny

A+, Network+, Linux+, Security+, MCSE+I, MCSE:Security, MCDBA, CCNP, CCDP, CCSP, CCVP, CCIE Written (R/S, Voice),INFOSEC, JNCIA (M and FWV), JNCIS (M and FWV), ENA, C|EH, ACA, ACS, ACE, CTP, CISSP, SSCP, MCIWD, CIWSA
  • Options
    tunerXtunerX Member Posts: 447 ■■■□□□□□□□