Options

DOes it make sense to get A+ certified

sizeonsizeon Member Posts: 321
any if i have 4 years of Tech Support experience>?

Comments

• Options
    ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Probably not, but you'll need to start somewhere. At least get Net+ if you have no other certs. If you don't truly know the majority of A+ off-hand, you should take it just for yourself. Take a couple of free, current practice tests. If you don't get 85-100% right, take A+.
    Working B.S., Computer Science
    Complete: 55/120 credits SPAN 201, LIT 100, ETHS 200, AP Lang, MATH 120, WRIT 231, ICS 140, MATH 215, ECON 202, ECON 201, ICS 141, MATH 210, LING 111, ICS 240
    In progress: CLEP US GOV,
    Next up: MATH 211, ECON 352, ICS 340
  • Options
    ImTheKingImTheKing Member Posts: 62 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I'd say it depends on what you're trying to achieve. Are you trying to get out of tech support and move to a higher level (ie sys/network admin)? If that's the case, A+ probably isn't that beneficial cost wise (the tests alone are $350). If you want to continue working in tech support at the same or a higher level, it can be beneficial. When I brushed up for the 702, I found a handful of useful things that I'd either forgotten, never learned, or never tried.

If you are trying to move beyond technical support, that $350 can be stretched quite a ways and could get you 2-3 high level certificates.
  • Options
    cyberguyprcyberguypr Mod Posts: 6,928 Mod
    ImTheKing wrote: »
    I'd say it depends on what you're trying to achieve. Are you trying to get out of tech support and move to a higher level (ie sys/network admin)? If that's the case, A+ probably isn't that beneficial cost wise (the tests alone are $350). If you want to continue working in tech support at the same or a higher level, it can be beneficial. When I brushed up for the 702, I found a handful of useful things that I'd either forgotten, never learned, or never tried.