Options

Newbie saying hi

qTekqTek Registered Users Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Just saying hi. This is my first post, I signed up here not because I had any questions yet but because most of my questions have already been answered by scrolling through this site lol

I've been working with PCs (only) for a couple years in the job field part time. Various offices and stores that wanted to hire a student at minimum wage basically. Nothing exciting or impressive, just maintaining an onsite server, fixing random hardware or upgrading things... troubleshooting. I know java when it comes to programming but being a highschool graduate with no college degree I'm looking now to get certifications and hopefully start working full time in the tech field. I don't know much and I just got my ass kicked on a practice A+ test (both parts) -- I scored 20 points under passing, unfortunately, on both of them. I did do some brief study guides for like an hour so I feel that's a good start. I plan on working on getting the A+ and moving on from there. I don't have to worry about a job immediately as I still have a decent part-time in the mean time so I feel its best to take advantage of living at home (a luxury I will not be afforded for much longer) and get somethings to put on my resume and start applying by the end of the month.

I may have too big of ambitions, but I'm hoping to get into networking mainly and hopefully a CCNA by sometime in February (obviously I have other things I plan on doing before I get that far). I have a lot of time to study and practice before taking these exams... my biggest fear is blowing money on failed exams... one thing I would ask is if anyone has advice on getting vouchers or discounts on exams and such without being part of a company that offers these for free (if thats possible).