preparation question from book seems wrong: confirmation?

thedude666thedude666 Member Posts: 69 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I am studying for doing my CCNA exam.
In the book of Lammle Todd I got the following question:
9. What are two purposes for segmentation with a bridge?
A. To add more broadcast domains
B. To create more collision domains
C. To add more bandwidth for users
D. To allow more broadcasts for users

To me this should be b and c. However the answer mentioned is a and d. This seems really strange to me. So I guess it is wrong. And if it isn't wrong, can someone explain to me why these are correct? Or do I misinterpret this question?

NOTE: I think for the rest this book is rather good. But as soon as I find a mistake in some answer I really start doubting if I am learning something wrong or not and if I will actually pass the exam :s really annoying :s

Comments

• ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    The book is wrong. Since bridges separate collision domains, a bridge actually creates collision domains. Each connection is its own collision domain. Thus, B is correct. Since a bridge does not separate or create broadcast domains, A is incorrect. Since a bridge can provide full-duplex, collision-free connections, that is in a sense adding bandwidth, so I would choose C. A bridge does not directly impact the ability to create broadcasts, so I'm don't see how D could be correct.

Are you sure the question wasn't "Which of the following are not purposes for segmentation with a bridge?"
    Working B.S., Computer Science
    Complete: 55/120 credits SPAN 201, LIT 100, ETHS 200, AP Lang, MATH 120, WRIT 231, ICS 140, MATH 215, ECON 202, ECON 201, ICS 141, MATH 210, LING 111, ICS 240
    In progress: CLEP US GOV,
    Next up: MATH 211, ECON 352, ICS 340
  • thedude666thedude666 Member Posts: 69 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I did a copy paste of the question :) it could be that "not" is accidentally left out and in that case the answers indeed seem correct.