Options

I'm making the switch . . .

exampasserexampasser Member Posts: 718 ■■■□□□□□□□
. . . to a laserjet printer that is. I've grown tired of ink drying out and getting low ink messages after printing few pages with my inkjet printer. I found a good deal on a black and white laserjet on Amazon that I just ordered and was happy to find out that I can find replacement toner cartridges for around $20 on ebay. I'll still keep my inkjet for color prints.

What are your experiences from partially or completely switching over to laserjet printers at home?
http://http://www.amazon.com/Brother-Printer-HL2270DW-Wireless-Monochrome/dp/B00450DVDY/ref=tpi_image_16?ie=UTF8&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_p=1276342982&pf_rd_s=center-10&pf_rd_r=04Q0A1CQT3ASF229VJY4&pf_rd_i=172635

Comments

• Options
    ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I've been using an HP LaserJet P2015 for about three years now. I have yet to replace the toner. I also have an ancient Color LaserJet that I bought second-hand from a school in 2006. I can tell you from past work experience and owning them that they're incredibly sturdy as long as you keep them somewhat clean.

I can also tell you from having professionally supported inkjet printers from two years, that laser print technology is absolutely the way to go for pretty much any market segment, from consumer to enterprise. You will ultimately save money 9/10 times by going with laser, between ink costs, support, and hardware replacement.

The problem is that the cost of acquisition on laser printers is so high that most people look at that $50 Lexmark and can't consider spending hundreds of dollars for a laser printer, even though they will almost certainly lose the cost difference several times over in ink and replacing the damn thing when it inevitably breaks.

You made the right choice.
    Working B.S., Computer Science