Options

Going self employed - any advice?

Danny boyDanny boy Member Posts: 41 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi All,

I've taken the perhaps reckless decision to quit my job as a generalist support technician for a small company and to take the decision to set up my own company as a sole trader. I've had just over a couple of years experience of working in IT and have come to the decision that whilst I like the work, I cannot stand the politics of working in a company and want to give self-employment a decent shot. Due to weekend work at my last job I didn't have the opportunity to start the business up in my free time and to go from there.

The plan is to offer services to home users, such as virus removal, hardware upgrades, repair, system health checks etc. I'm going to set up a simple professional looking website, advertise in local papers, put up flyers, create business cards, so hopefully will be able to attract at least a little interest so I can get a small customer base going. I am going to have to brush up/ fine tune some of my skills for the home market and expect that it will probably take a while to get going and to make some money out of it.

Fortunately I live at home with my parents and have money saved up, so earning money isn't crucial at this moment in time so I can afford to stick this out for a while.

I don't know if anybody has tried this before or has any guidance on this sort of thing? Any advice would be appreciated. (I couldn't see any threads on this topic, but my apologies if I missed anything obvious)

Dan

Comments

• Options
    sasprosaspro Member Posts: 114
    Where in the UK are you based?

First of all you need to do an analysis of your local area & needs so you can set your pricing. Remember you need to cover your wages & other incidental costs you have for running a business. £40-£50 an hour is a fair rate for London & surrounding areas.