Options

Is anyone else's job like this?

snakeuptilitsnakeuptilit Member Posts: 26 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello TE,

First off, I am a IT System Administrator Assistant though I am the only IT person for the department so I am basically the System Administrator, just not paid like one. Is anyone else here titled something they are undeserving of? Secondly, is anyone else required to note a list of every task/job they did for the day and email that to your manager every day at the end of your shift? Is anyone else required to let your supervisor know when you are leaving your cube/area for ANY reason? IE. To go help a user, go to lunch or even use the bathroom? I’m also not gaining that much experience due to doing NON IT related tasks when the work flow gets slow. I’m planning to take a job as a HelpDesk Associate with better pay and experience and what seems to be a much better work environment. What do you guys think?

Comments

• Options
    BokehBokeh Member Posts: 1,636 ■■■■■■■□□□
    I had a job like this. Was doing sw/hw support for a niche industry. Boss made the two support folks to email him at the end of the day with the times, ticket #s, and how long it took to resolve each issue. He couldnt be bothered to look it up in the software himself.

Some places just really love to micro manage.
  • Options
    snokerpokersnokerpoker Member Posts: 661 ■■■■□□□□□□