pc upgrade

jamesleecolemanjamesleecoleman Member Posts: 1,899 ■■■■■□□□□□
Hi!!

I'm looking to upgrade my computer from an Intel Pentium D with 4 gb of ram at 800 mhz to most likely the AMD FX eight core processor with 8gb of ram at 2ghz (if I read that right). I was told that Intel has some good processors for virtualization but all the processors are pretty expensive. I will be running about three to four virtual machines at a time. I won't be doing anything big because I'm a student and I will be taking some microsoft classes that deal with 08 server and windows 7. I will also be running metasploitable, backtrack, and opensuse linux 12.1 when I study some security stuff on my own. I hope the set up will also help with running gns3 because I get very poor performance right now. I'm still trying to find a cheap hard drive to put windows 7 64bit on.

I am on a budget of $500 dollars now.

This is what I have so far:
Newegg.com - AMD FX-8120 Zambezi 3.1GHz Socket AM3+ 125W Eight-Core Desktop Processor FD8120FRGUBOX
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-990FXA-UD3 AM3+ AMD 990FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Newegg.com - Mushkin Enhanced Blackline 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 2000 (PC3 16000) Desktop Memory Model 996991

Could anyone offer me any advice and/or input?
Booya!!
WIP : | CISSP [2018] | CISA [2018] | CAPM [2018] | eCPPT [2018] | CRISC [2019] | TORFL (TRKI) B1 | Learning: | Russian | Farsi |
*****You can fail a test a bunch of times but what matters is that if you fail to give up or not*****

Comments

• instant000instant000 Member Posts: 1,745
    My advice is to not do what I did.

I decided that I needed some old "el-cheapo" lab computers, so I decided to order them from E-bay, in pieces.