Stupid Chinese hackers.

EveryoneEveryone Member Posts: 1,661
Facebook told me that someone logged into my account there from a mobile device in China. :\ I'm on my computer at least 8 hours a day for work, so I got the notification right away and was able to take action immediately.

Maybe that's what I get for logging on from unsecured WiFi at a hotel. I keep my home network locked down tight. Just to be extra sure, added rules to my firewall to block all of Asia and Africa today. Been meaning to do that for a while anyway.

Most annoying part was going and changing all my passwords.

Haven't found any signs of intrusion on any of my computers, which makes me wonder if my Android phone was compromised. :\ I'm very good at keeping a network, and my Windows and Linux boxes secure, I've had years and years of experience doing that. This phone always worries me though, as I have very little experience with Android phones. Don't even know where to begin to see if it's the phone that's been compromised.

Comments

• Bl8ckr0uterBl8ckr0uter Inactive Imported Users Posts: 5,031 ■■■■■■■■□□
    You could run one of the toolkits on it:
    https://code.google.com/p/aft/
    viaExtract - Forensic tool for Android devices released | The Hacker News (THN)

I think there was one from SANS as well. Do you run IPtables on your phone? How about AV?
  • lenell86lenell86 Member Posts: 75 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Unfortunately, what the say in the news about android surging in threats 400% is not to be taken lightly. Reason why I bought a WP7 instead of android lol.

But getting back on point, FB has an option in your settings to use https by default so if it was on your phone, I believe that still goes over unsecured.
    Certifications complete: A+, Net+, Security+, MCTS 70-401, MCSA
    Currently working towards: MCSE (70-293)
  • SteveLordSteveLord Member Posts: 1,717
    We've been meaning to tell you that we've known your FB password was "password" for a while now. ;)