Simple Question regarding CCENT/CCNA test paths

cownaetioncownaetion Member Posts: 14 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello, I'm sorry if this question seems simple but I am completely new to the Cisco field and just trying to find my bearings on where to start. On the Cisco site, the CCENT certification is one exam, the 640-822 ICND1. The CCNA is exam 640-802 CCNA, or if I'm reading this correctly, 640-822 ICND1 & 640-822 ICND2? So my questions are if the two exams are taken and passed to achieve the CCNA, is it worth taking both of the ICNDs or just studying for the CCNA exam? I'm not sure what the difference is, but the books on Amazon I'm looking at list either CCNA or CCENT/CCNA and considering if one of the exams is half of the CCNA, how much of a difference does the ICND2 make? Sorry for the simple question but the Cisco world is a new foreign language to me (I'll ask sometime later just what the differences in hardware are, I'm completely clueless when looking at what to buy but I'll wait till I read into some of the books before I go down that road), and just looking for an answer from the many experienced Cisco users on the forum. Thanks for your time.

Comments

• martell1000martell1000 Member Posts: 389
    this question has been discussed a million times i guess and it always depends...

taking the ICND1 & 2 road worked better for me because i had not much experience with cisco gear when i decided to
    get my ccna. you can focus on getting the basics right and not having to worry about the "complicated" stuff.

when i think back i guess taking the composite exam would have totally broken my neck because there is so much stuff to learn if you are new to the cisco world that it would take a lot of effort to get on a level where you might pass. another nice thing is that you get a huge motivation boost after you pass ICND1 and receive your first cisco cert in a nice letter ;)