Options

Another lab question...

joshmadakorjoshmadakor Member Posts: 495 ■■■■□□□□□□
A little background... I'm currently an IT Analyst working for my state in higher education. I work primarily with Windows Server products and I don't have a lot of real, in depth network experience; I'm relatively new to Cisco.

That being said, I'm looking into building a home lab soon to begin my CCNA studies. I'm not sure how far I want to go with my Cisco studies, so I want to purchase equipment that will take me as far as possible. In other words, I want to avoid having my equipment I purchase for CCNA become obsolete as my studies progress through CCNP etc.

What I want to ask is this: Is it possible to procure routers/switches that will serve me well for CCNA but have the potential to carry me through CCIE? (Hypothetically speaking)

If it's possible, are there any real cons besides the price?
If it's not possible, why?

Thanks in advance, I searched but I didn't quite find an exact answer to my question--I didn't really know how to word it to produce valid results.
WGU B.S. Information Technology (Completed January 2013)

Comments

• Options
    alxxalxx Member Posts: 755
    look at gsn3 first CBT Nuggets Player
    gsn3 + a few switches 2950 for ccna, 3550's for ccnp.
    gsn3 is an emulator that runs the real ios images.

You can buy hardware that will take your through to CCIE but I wouldn't buy any hardware until you are really sure you want to keep going with cisco networking.

I've built myself a lab that currently covers ccnp and covers the routers for ccie,
    need a couple of better switches to cover the switch part of ccie(r&s).

To get a lab for ccna and ccnp you can get away with speeding as little as $300 or as much as $3000.

For icnd1 - packet tracer, gsn3, free labs (freeccna work book lab) maybe a couple of routers and switches.