Any certifications that are obtainable from strictly using Transcender or CBTNuggets?

N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
I am studying for another certification at the moment, but I was just curious if there are any IT certifications out there that you can just use the video training for and have a decent chance at passing

Anyone have any experience with this?

Thanks

Comments

• DevilsbaneDevilsbane Member Posts: 4,214 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Do you mean no labbing or no real world experience?

I did A+ using only Transcender combined with prior knowledge (no books or other study materials). Other than that I've always read a book and usually watched videos to nail things down. Most exams also required me to tinker with my virtual environment to get it all down.
    Decide what to be and go be it.
  • NOC-NinjaNOC-Ninja Member Posts: 1,403
    Tough call since you have all the CompTIA. I would think the next certs would be Microsoft certs.
  • N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I was just wondering for myself and for others. I just like discussing different certification strategies and this is one I haven't seen a lot of so I thought I would bring it up.

Thanks for participating.
  • ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    I have never used video training for certs, so my input here may be worthless. However, in my opinion, given significant experience with the technology in question and good study material (I'm thinking books, but video or audio may work, too), I think most of the Comptia and lower-level MS certs are attainable without labs. I have only labbed for one cert in my career (70-643), so I at least see skipping the lab as feasible for most tests.
    Working B.S., Computer Science
    Complete: 55/120 credits SPAN 201, LIT 100, ETHS 200, AP Lang, MATH 120, WRIT 231, ICS 140, MATH 215, ECON 202, ECON 201, ICS 141, MATH 210, LING 111, ICS 240
    In progress: CLEP US GOV,