Options

How to get a job in IT security?

zippie666zippie666 Member Posts: 29 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello,

I've just started my career as factory support agent in a service desk for a factory which has over 6000 employees. This means I work with all kinds of OS's such as Windows Server 2003 and 2008, unix, HP OpenVMS, ... and I give support to all productioncritical systems, but I also (out of interest) work on "office related" incidents, although that's not in my scope actually. I've always had an intrest in IT security but I understand getting a job in IT security isn't for starters (I've just worked for almost 6 months now since I graduated).

I currently hold ITIL v3 Foundation, Configuring Windows 7, Windows Server 2008 application infrastructure, Windows Server 2008 network infrastructure and have an exam in 3 weeks for the 70-685 Windows 7 DST exam (rollout of Windows 7 in less than half a year, good excuse for an extra cert icon_wink.gif)

What certification path do you suggest? A collegue of mine suggests going for an Isaca cert, is that something you guys advise too?
Current cert:
MCSA: Windows 7, 8 & Server 2008
EXIN ITIL v3 Foundation
EXIN ISO 27002 Foundations
CIW Web Professional

Comments

• Options
    jdancerjdancer Member Posts: 482 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Another option is to get a CompTIA Security+ cert. However, if you feel your current certs cover basic security, then go get a GIAC Security Essentials cert. This will be my next security cert once I'm done with my CCNA.
  • Options
    LinuxRacrLinuxRacr Member Posts: 653 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Start with the CompTIA Security+ cert. Check out the following thread, and pay close attention to keatron's suggestions...

http://www.techexams.net/forums/security-certifications/28593-security-certification-where-start.html
    My WGU B.S. IT - Security Progress : Transferred In|Remaining|In Progress|Completed
    AGC1, CLC1, GAC1, INC1, CTV1, INT1, BVC1, TBP1, TCP1, QLT1, HHT1, QBT1, BBC1 (39 CUs), (0 CUs) (0 CUs)