Options

Traveling Technician Job

nava87nava87 Member Posts: 30 ■■■□□□□□□□
Has anyone ever held this position before? If so could someone explain what the pros and cons were and how to better navigate to a better position. I just accepted this position as a PC Technician with 100% travel. They pay is okay and it gets my foot in the door but I also have a wife and kid. Any info? Thanks

Comments

• Options
    pinkydapimppinkydapimp Member Posts: 732 ■■■■■□□□□□
    nava87 wrote: »
    Has anyone ever held this position before? If so could someone explain what the pros and cons were and how to better navigate to a better position. I just accepted this position as a PC Technician with 100% travel. They pay is okay and it gets my foot in the door but I also have a wife and kid. Any info? Thanks

I have been doing a Field Engineering position for about 7 years. The benefits: if you like to travel like i do, then you will enjoy seeing different places. Also, you arent in the same place everyday so it is less monotonous as an office environment. Also, you get lots of exposure to different environments and infrastructures where you can see what works and what doesn't. i find that to be invaluable. also, i truly believe IT positions are moving to this type of position. So having that experience should prove helpful in the future. The cons: if you dislike traveling, it can be a drag. Also, can be difficult when you have a wife and kids. If your travel policy has you staying in subpar conditions or has a tight budget, i could see this being a pain as well. Luckily, our travel policy is pretty flexible.

All in all, i enjoy my time in the field and do not look forward to going back to an office environment. Good luck!
  • Options
    SteveLordSteveLord Member Posts: 1,717
    Can you elaborate? This isn't one of those contract gigs where you serve a 30mile radius and get paid like $30 per visit and pay your own gas is it?
    WGU B.S.IT - 9/1/2015 >>> ???
  • Options