An Undergrad student's dilemma

manvir88jattmanvir88jatt Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone,

First of all thanks for such a wonderful website. I stumbled on it and i am glad i found it. To begin with i am an IT student i have diploma in IT and a certificate in computer information systems. The problem is i dont want to do bachelors, because it feels like waste of time , there are hardly any jobs and they all require experience. Also i am taking a year or two off to work full time n save up some money for school. So i started researching on what exactly i want to do and found metasploit and pen testing and ever since i found that i have been interested and learning every day about security , auditing and our networks. I talked to my manager at previous workplaces who is a security advisor and he recommended on doing GIAC certifications to get a decent job first and then carry on with bachelors alongside.

My question is i am not a complete noob but i dont have any experience either, so i am not sure which certification to go for. I am thinking about getting Comptia+ Security+ certification first .

so
1. Security+
2. GSNA
3. GPEN
4. CISSP

Do you guys think this a good career path to take ? Please guide

Thanks ,
Manny

Comments

• forestgiantforestgiant Member Posts: 153
    Regardless of what you feel about the Bachelors, don't drop out. It's not what you feel, but how employers see it. before they see and work with you, they will judge you on how you appear on paper, and having a Bachelors prove that you can finish what you started.

Also, saying you like metaexploits is unimpressive. It makes you a script kiddies. Don't fall for that trap.