Bootcamp worth it?

thehourmanthehourman Member Posts: 723
Hello TE,

I am thinking to take a bootcamp for my certification, and the money is coming out of my pocket icon_sad.gif Therefore, I can only take one bootcamp for this year, and is going to be my first one.
I am studying for CCNP R&S and CEHv7 (just started it about a week 1/2 ago). The CCNP bootcamp is about $3000 just for the Route exam, and CEH is $3500. I have been studying for Route since July of last year, but it has been on and off. The CEH requires at least two years of security work for me to become eligible unless I take the training.

I am thinking to get the INE's CCNP CoD for $300 (my virtual bootcamp for CCNP), and self study for CEH then take a bootcamp after I finish the material. I want to do the bootcamp knowing the materials already.

What's your input about bootcamp specially for those who paid the fee themselves?
Studying:
Working on CCNA: Security. Start date: 12.28.10
Microsoft 70-640 - on hold (This is not taking me anywhere. I started this in October, and it is December now, I am still on page 221. WTH!)
Reading:
Network Warrior - Currently at Part II
Reading IPv6 Essentials 2nd Edition - on hold

Comments

• jibbajabbajibbajabba Member Posts: 4,317 ■■■■■■■■□□
    I think it depends what you want to get out of it. It will get you most likely the exam (if you the kinda guy who doesn't mind studuying for hours after an 8 hr class), but many bootcamps will only teach you the stuff you need to know in order to pass to begin with. Unless you work with the technology you study in the bootcamp - it is likely you will forget a LOT.