10 tech skills becoming extinct

ShanmanShanman Member Posts: 223
10 Tech Skills Heading the Way of the Dinosaur - 2012 Edition

I hate reading stuff like this. I have spent the past 5 years in school to learn networking along with my own self study and I have been working in the field now for 2 years. I am in the process of getting my CCNP as well. Then you read something like this. Does everybody think that network administrators are on the way out? I sure hope not I have way to much invested. I understand that mobile devices are going to take over but come on they have to connect somehow people. And lets not forget about data centers. Do they magically connect themselves. errrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

Somebody please reaffirm me that I am doing the right thing. icon_sad.gif

Comments

• Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024
    Companies will always need connectivity. You have to take the article with a grain of salt. On the one hand it says subnetting isnt going to be a valued skill. On the other it mentions that many network geeks don't know how to subnet today. Put two and two together - subnetting is, largely, a non-issue for most employers, and the author of the article is just talking to fill the space.

The rest of it is basically saying your specialized skills are becoming obsolete. Two of the bullet points (flash and silverlight) are basically the same issue - learn to use HTML5 instead.

All told, the entire article is an exercise in the obvious. It's saying that in the IT world you need to keep up, and adapt or die.

Were any of you seriously under the illusion that you could learn one tech skill and be set for life?
  • effektedeffekted Member Posts: 166
    Gave me a good laugh, because all there is to networking is subnetting.
  • N2ITN2IT Inactive Imported Users Posts: 7,483 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Some of those made a lot of sense.

Windows 2000 and older. LOL