getting a job without experience

craig kudzaicraig kudzai Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Can someone tell me if its possible for me to get a job without experience. i passed my A+ last year and am currently studying N+. hw do i get around this?

Comments

• sixtytensixtyten Member Posts: 84 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I've been in the IT field for 11 years. I've moved from the help desk to hardware support to Web development. I have found its hard to transition into a server admin or networking position without experience. I got some sever admin and networking experience at a smaller company when I was a hardware tech. Basically the server/network admin let me work on some projects when he wanted a break. You also need to find a company that will let you grow into other areas. I am working on my network+ to enable me to transition away from web development. I have also taken some programming courses lately to help me do any scripting that might be required on future jobs. Either way I know its hard to get employers to realize you have the skills. An interview doesn't let interviewers see your true potential so I figure some certs on paper will help display some sort of initiative and foundation of knowledge. I recently applied for a junior server admin job and got an interview which didn't go very well. I felt like no one really took me seriously so I hope the certs will help in future interviews.

**edit** to be a little clearer to your question... I would look for small companies, consultant work, and anything that would let you expand your skill set when you are hired. Getting your N+ along with your A+(which you already have) should get you in the door as a hardware or network tech. Beef up your resume with anything related to the position you are applying for.

Good luck!
  • drumrolfedrumrolfe Member Posts: 50 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I was in your same exact position several years ago, except I was working on my A+ and had no certifications.