hello again people need some help with profiles building up on machines.

andyjudd1andyjudd1 Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
hi everyone,

im an apprentice tech at a college and this problem is abit above my head but we but we use roaming profiles and everytime someone logs on to a machine it stores thier profile in users and it is starting to cause a problem by slowing log on times down. dose anyone know of a way to stop the profiles being stored or to be deleted automaticly your help would be much appreciated. :)

Comments

• TurgonTurgon Banned Posts: 6,308 ■■■■■■■■■□
    andyjudd1 wrote: »
    hi everyone,

im an apprentice tech at a college and this problem is abit above my head but we but we use roaming profiles and everytime someone logs on to a machine it stores thier profile in users and it is starting to cause a problem by slowing log on times down. dose anyone know of a way to stop the profiles being stored or to be deleted automaticly your help would be much appreciated. :)

Roaming profiles where the bane of our lives in NT 4.0 days. But it's been a long time so I cant help you. Im sure with the AD advancements and group policies there are solutions for you. Expect a few people to reply to this. Failing that try the Windows forums!
  • andyjudd1andyjudd1 Member Posts: 29 ■□□□□□□□□□
    haha my boss was telling me that he was saying IT is so much easier now days it feels like there's a lost skill there somewhere thank for your help.
  • ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Are you saying its storing a copy of the profile locally?

There is a GP that will turn off Offline Files -- effectively, almost every profile file is accessed over the network, rather than cached locally and synchronized. Keep in mind, this can make things slower post-login, but it should speed up login and logoff, in most cases. It really depends on the environment.
    Working B.S., Computer Science