Options

EIGRP in the real world

jude56gjude56g Member Posts: 107 ■■■□□□□□□□
I have been working in networking in various capacities for the last 9 years and not once have I seen EIGRP (or RIP for that matter) in the wild. Anyone out there use these protocols regularly??

Comments

• Options
    MonkerzMonkerz Member Posts: 842
    Funny you ask. Monday is my last day with my current employer, and just yesterday I had to explain to "the outsourcee(s)" why we are using BGP, OSPF, RIP and two different instances of EIGRP. So yes, this company is using it, but not in the way I would like.
  • Options
    Forsaken_GAForsaken_GA Member Posts: 4,024
    jude56g wrote: »
    I have been working in networking in various capacities for the last 9 years and not once have I seen EIGRP (or RIP for that matter) in the wild. Anyone out there use these protocols regularly??

Most experienced network engineers will shy away from proprietary protocols when the network is composed of gear from multiple vendors. If you're vendor locked to just Cisco gear, there's no problem with EIGRP, it's a very robust and fairly easy protocol.

However, when you've got a mix of vendor gear, if you want to use EIGRP with your Cisco gear, you can, but in order for routes to be shared with other vendors gear, you have to do route redistribution. This adds points of complexity and points of failure to the network, which is generally not a good idea to do on purpose. It's one thing to start a network with EIGRP because you have all Cisco gear, and then you grow and scale and start tossing in things like Junipers. In those cases, redesigning your IGP to run OSPF or ISIS or RIP everywhere is generally not going to be worth it, and then you'd introduce the redistribution points.

Designing a network from the ground up with redistribution points? You're insane, a glutton for punishment, or really hate the people who have to work with or succeed you.
  • Options
    shodownshodown Member Posts: 2,271