Options

Confused about starting out on an IT career

gatlingatlin Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hello my name is James, I'm 29 and I am currently working in Ireland in the construction industry but I can see that in about 4-6 weeks I will lose my job. I have been working in construction for 12 years but the work is really drying up over here and there has been over 600k lost jobs in the construction sector over the last 5 years so chances of being hired in another job is slim. I know all my skills are almost useless now but I have built computers for family and friends from scratch saving loads of money for everyone and when ever there is a computer problem normally I am the first port of call for advice or help.

I feel I would have a good basic computer knowledge in terms of components and I have been checking online for free courses available in Ireland and I have come up with a list.

Cisco Interconnecting Network Devices parts 1&2
CompTIA Network+
Windows Server 2008 Network Infrastructure Configuration
CompTIA A+
Java Programming S.E.6
Flash CS3
Flash CS4
Dreamweaver CS3
Dreamweaver CS4
Windows Server 2003 Managing a Server Environment
Windows Server 2008 Active Directory Configuration
Windows Server 2008 Applications Infrastructure Configuration

These are all free when I become unemployed, I have looked at the CompTIA A+ and it seems pretty straight forward and basic computer knowledge. Could anyone possibly advise me on if any of these courses are helpful in trying to start out on an IT career and what order I would do these courses. I looked at the Java programming course aswell but it seemed a little complicated for me at my current level.

I have also tried to locate an IT career path example for someone starting out on an IT career and I have struggled to find one although when looking I found this great place! Any help and advice would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    [Deleted User][Deleted User] Senior Member Posts: 0 ■■■■□□□□□□