Options

need advice

eruptioneruption Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I passed the A+ HW exam a few weeks ago. I'm studying for the OS exam now, but I've only had in depth experience with Windows Millenium Edition, which is what I have on my only computer that I got in 2001.

I would like to obtain a copy of NT, 2000, and XP but I don't know the best way to do this given the fact I have only one computer. It has a PIII with 512 MB of PC133 RAM and a 20GB hard drive.

My plan was to purchase or otherwise obtain one or two more computers to install the other OSs on. I've been wanting to buy a new laptop anyway, so I might end up getting that soon as well. My intention is to also practice with setting up a home network using these computers, preferably wirelessly. I figure this would be good experience for when I start studying for the Net+ exam.

So, I need advice on how I should go about accomplishing this and to start I'll ask a few questions...

1) Will it be possible to network computers that run different operating systems?

2) Which OSs should I use for a dual boot? NT/2000 or 2000/XP or NT/Me or 2000/Me or Me/XP... yadda yadda...

3) And, which versions should I get? I know there's NT Server/Workstation, 2000 Professional/Server, and XP Home/Professional...

I just want all of the computers to be able to network together to share my cable internet connection and my printer.

I'd probably want to use XP as my main OS on the machine that will be used for everyday purposes, which will be my laptop if I get it. The rest of the computers and operating systems will just be for learning purposes and to have some fun playing with setting up a network in my apartment....

Any advice will be appreciated. EVen if you think the idea is ridiculous or a waste of time, please say so because I'd rather know that before I waste my time and money.