Options

After Security+?

SanjayCertsSanjayCerts Registered Users Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
Found this forum to be of great help. Could someone please let me know the security related certifications one can pursue after Security+?
I've passed Security+ fairly quickly with a good score--Darril Gibson's book was of tremendous help--and I'm looking at the next target. I hear that some of the other security certs require someone to refer/recommend you and so on? I've been working in the IT field for the last 10 years as a programmer/business analyst/project manager etc, but not with an official Security role and designation. Any pointers would be deeply appreciated.

Cheers!

Comments

• Options
    ptilsenptilsen Member Posts: 2,835 ■■■■■■■■■■
    SSCP is probably a logical next step if you want to get more into security implementation.

CISSP or GSEC would be also good choices, but are probably less technical (yet more valuable, in market terms) than SSCP.

It really depends on what, if anything, you want to do in security. If you don't want to eventually be in the security field, then Security+ is arguably a stopping point.
    Working B.S., Computer Science
    Complete: 55/120 credits SPAN 201, LIT 100, ETHS 200, AP Lang, MATH 120, WRIT 231, ICS 140, MATH 215, ECON 202, ECON 201, ICS 141, MATH 210, LING 111, ICS 240
    In progress: CLEP US GOV,
    Next up: MATH 211, ECON 352, ICS 340
  • Options
  • Options
    ValsacarValsacar Member Posts: 336
    I asked the guys in our security shop the same question last year (and security is where I want to go, network defense specifically). Their answer was CISSP, because anything in between will just lead to people asking when you're getting CISSP.
    WGU MS:ISA Progress:
    Required: NOTHING!!!!!
    Current Course: NONE

Completed: COV2, LKT2, LOT2, FNV2, VUT2, JFT2, TFT2, JIT2, FYT2, FMV2, FXT2, FYV2, LQT2
    Started 01 May 2012, Degree awarded 29 Oct 2013
  • Options