Options

Network Admin requirements?

Hello,
How you guys doing?

I searched a couple of threads about this, some had some data on it, but didnt found a thread quite specific.

So...

What in your opinion makes a good network admin?
What requirements does a net admin has (or should)?
Recommended certs, abilities, knowledge, experience?

I'm a system admin, I do work with a couple of aspects of a Network Admin. The position I had before this one was Network Admin, but after 6 months got offered a system admin position with way more benefits. After a while the network dpt and system dpt merged so now we kind of do a bit about everything.
I only have around 2.5 yrs in total of IT experience.

I'm interested in knowing what is needed to become a Network Admin out there.
At least the general specs.
I'm concern that I dont have much experience with networks (a yr or so the most), should I become a network guy in a NOC? or a network technician in some company and get more experience?
I kind of feel if I do that ill be stepping down in my career (from system admin --> to network tech).

So whats you guys opinion based on your knowledge on this?

PS. sorry for bad english.
meh

Comments

• Options
    higherhohigherho Member Posts: 882
    I'm a Systems Administrator as well and on the Network side of things I really needed to know VPN appliances, Firewall, and Switching (both layer 2 and layer 3). It really depends on the network and the job because most System Administrator positions contain Network admin roles and even some type of database role.

For a pure network admin? I would say VPN ( Site to Site, IPSEC, Tunneling protocols ) Firewall (access rules, NAT, etc ), Switching (Switch port security, STP, Layer 3 switching), and Routing are quite possibly the biggest things you want to know.
  • Options
    kurosaki00kurosaki00 Member Posts: 973
    Sounds pretty right! Thanks
    Any more advices are more than welcomed.
    meh
  • Options