Options

Career Changer Seeking Advice

bmy78bmy78 Member Posts: 49 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hello everyone,

I've been lurking on these boards for the past couple of weeks and I have to say this site seems like a fantastic resource for both information and support. I plan to come here further.

That said, here is my story. I'm looking to switch careers to IT. I've been teaching high school social studies for the past three or so years, and I'm burned out. Previously I had worked for 6 years in the book publishing industry doing sales support for their online division (HTML email campaigns, putting together spreadsheets, organizing and gathering jacket image info, etc.). Before that, I graduated with a bachelor's in political science in '01. As you can see, its a liberal arts degree and not a technical one.

As you can also surmise, I'm not that young anymore. I'm 33 and the thought of changing careers (again) seems daunting.

So, I have an attack plan to get that entry-level IT position (hopefully it would be a jr. level network admin type of position but I'll take a help desk position if it gives me exp.):

1. Pass the A+, Network+, and Security+ exams sometime before the end of this summer. I have the A+ All-In-One Guide by Mike Myers and I'm slogging through it. Some of this, especially the historical sections, is a blast-from-the-past because i was into PCs in my high school/early college days (should have majored in CS, I know). I've glanced at the Prof. Messer videos and they seem great. I'll look into those more.

2. Find a job dealing with tech support in some fashion. PC technician, level I help desk, level I admin / jr. network admin. Ideally I can start looking at these jobs after I pass A+.

3. Research other certifications / career paths I can take once I get that first coveted job. Cisco, MS, and Linux all seem appealing. I imagine I will know more once I pass the entry-level exams.

So, my questions to you TechExams community, are: